Your Voice, Our Strength


GUWAHATI July 07: The reshuffle comes amid the scene of criticism of the government’s handling of covid-19 pandemic. Amid reshuffle whisper, accent is on several leaders – Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Pashupati Paras, who led the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) coup in Bihar against ex-Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s son Chirag Paswan.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet is expected to undergo a reshuffle later today. Reports says that a total of 43 ministers (old and new) will be taking oath on Wednesday evening at around 6 pm. While there has been no official confirmation on the details of the upcoming rejig, several Ministers have tendered their resignations over the last few hours.

Prior on Tuesday, Union Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot had announced his intention to submit his resignation after being appointed as the Governor of Karnataka. He has also resigned from the membership of Rajya Sabha

There has also been a slew of resignations over the last few hours. While the list of resignations we have  here are.

Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar


Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank

Minister for chemical and fertilizers Sadananda Gowda

MoS for Human Resources Development Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre

MoS Woman and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri

While Modi can have up to 81 members in his government (15% of the Lok Sabha strength), the current strength of the Council of Ministers stands at 53 and the PM is likely to induct around a dozen more ministers

As many as 43 leaders will take oath today in the Union Cabinet expansion. Jyotiraditya Scindia, Pashupati Kumar Paras, Bhupender Yadav, Anupriya Patel, Shobha Karandlaje, Meenakshi Lekhi, Ajay Bhatt, Anurag Thakur are among those who will take oath, sources say.

You might also like