Your Voice, Our Strength

KAAC Poll 2022: 26 Constituencies of East And West Karbi Anglong Poll to be held on June

State Election Commission on Thursday announced elections to the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) on June.
Elections will be held in all 26 council constituencies of Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong district. The counting of ballots will take place on June 12.
State poll chief, Alok Kumar, said in a news conference on Thursday that polling will be held from 7.30 am to 4.30 pm. In case of repoll, the same will be held on June 10. May 23 (11 am to 3 pm) is the last day for filing nominations. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on May 24 and on the same day, till the time of preparation of the list of valid nominations, candidature can be withdrawn. On May 24 itself, a list of valid nominations will be published.
“All provisions of the Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect in the respective areas covered by the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council”. 

Last Polls and numbers of voters: 

The last KAAC election was held on June 17, 2017, and the council was constituted on July 3 the same year. A total of 7, 03,298 voters are registered to exercise their franchise in the election- 3,55,503 male and 3,47,790 female. Five third gender voters are also enrolled in the voter list.

There will be 906 polling stations. The biggest constituency is Lumbajong, which is in Diphu town with 69,815 voters. The smallest constituency is Sarupathar in Bokajan that has 10,128 voters,” Kumar said, adding that 57 very sensitive polling stations have been identified in the election.

“The maximum ceiling of expenditure by a candidate is Rs 4.5 lakh,” he added. Kumar also informed that 30 star campaigners will be permitted to recognized national political parties, 25 for recognized state political parties and 15 for registered unrecognized parties.

Security system during Election:

Apart from engaging about 12,000 government officials in the election, the state police will be deployed to maintain law and order. “The council preferred to go with ballot boxes but transparency will be maintained,” Kumar added.

Bodoland Territorial Council election 2022

The commission has also announced a by-election to the Koklabari council constituency under the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) on June 8. The counting of ballots will be held on June 12.

The by-election was necessitated in Koklabari as UPPL president and BTC chief executive member Pramod Boro vacated the Koklabari seat which he won along with Goibari in the 2020 BTC polls. Boro contested from both seats



You might also like