Your Voice, Our Strength

Siddaramaiah takes oath as the new Karnataka CM

The oath taking ceremony was held at Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru

Siddaramaiah took oath as the new Karnataka chief minister on Saturday with state Congress Chief DK Shivakumar as his deputy. The oath-taking ceremony was held at Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru.

The venue is the same place where Siddaramaiah took oath in 2013, when he became Chief Minister for the first time.


The first list of Cabinet Ministers approved by Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge included A.G. Parmeshwara, K.H. Muniyappa, K.J. George, M.B. Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyanka Kharge, Ramalimga Reddy and B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan.

Earlier, DK Shivakumar welcomed Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to Bengaluru.

JMM, RJD, Shiv Sena, SP, PDP, CPI(M), CPI, MDMK, RSP, CPI(ML), VCK, RLD, Kerala Congress, and IUML leaders have all received invites from Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge to attend the swearing-in event.

In the Karnataka Assembly election on May 10, the Congress secured a resounding victory, taking 135 of the state’s 224 seats and expelling the BJP from office. The JD(S), which had planned to act as the kingmaker, came in last place with only 19 seats, well behind the BJP in second place with 66 seats.

You might also like