Your Voice, Our Strength

Political Crisis: Sukhwinder Sukhu To Continue As CM Till Lok Sabha Polls in Himachal

Shimla: Bhupinder Singh Hooda and DK Shivakumar, who were appointed as state observers, submitted their initial report on Thursday, which recommended that the Congress should keep Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh till the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Bhupinder Singh Hooda and DK Shivakumar submitted their preliminary report to the Congress high command.


Reports Of The Observers

As per the reports of ANI, the observers informed the party’s central leadership that MLAs and ministers are “extremely dissatisfied” with Sukhu. However, the observers have advised Sukhu to stay chief minister until the general elections to the lower house.

“There is a need to change Sukhu; the leadership should decide whether before or after the Lok Sabha elections, observer’s opinion is that Sukhu should remain the CM till the elections, the final decision is left to the leadership,” the observers said in the report.

The observers further suggested taking action against the six “rebel” MLAs who cast multiple votes in the Rajya Sabha elections.

They stated that by Thursday night, the final report will be delivered to Mallikarjun Kharge, national president of the Congress.

The six Congress MLAs who cast multiple votes in the Rajya Sabha elections earlier in the day were disqualified by Himachal Pradesh Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania.

“Six MLAs who ran for office under the Congress symbol were subjected to the anti-defection law. Speaker Pathania declared, “I declare that the six individuals are no longer members of the Himachal Pradesh Assembly, effective immediately.”

List of Disqualified MLAs

Sudhir Sharma, Rajinder Rana, Davinder K. Bhutto, Ravi Thakur, Chaitanya Sharma, and Inder Dutt Lakhanpal were the six MLAs that have been disqualified.

You might also like